Monday, June 4, 2012

Kaitlyn Davis - Simmer - Author Interview

Author Interview

1. Who is the plot based around?
The plot is based around three main characters – Kira (the female lead who can potentially mean the end of the world), Tristan (the boy she is crushing on) and Luke (the best friend who may sneak his way into her heart)!

2. What is the main idea of the plot?
Kira moves to a new town and all hell breaks loose! Okay, just kidding… sort of! She starts crushing on Tristan and knows Luke is keeping secrets from her, but when she uncovers those secrets her entire world is flipped upside down. She has mystical powers she never dreamed of, new enemies out to kill her and a boy she just can’t seem to stay away from.

3. When does the plot take place?
Modern day!

4. Where does the plot take place?
The first book is set in one of my absolute favorite cities in the world: Charleston, South Carolina! In the second book, we visit a few different cities in the USA. And, in the third book, my characters may be headed overseas!

5. Why did the plot develop the way it did?
I love books with high stakes and what is higher than a girl who may mean the end of the world? The plot follows Kira as she discovers the truth about her life and struggles to accept it. In many ways, she becomes two different people on two different paths, and the story is about her deciding which life she wants – which boy, which future and which identity.

6. How did you come up with the idea for the plot?
Very slowly! Initially, I thought of a new and unique paranormal power. From that, I began to imagine different characters and different scenes popped into my head. And soon enough, I had the basic idea for the series – something I spent a lot of time fine-tuning and developing into a seamless plot.

About the Books

Simmer: Midnight Fire Series: Book Two

Slowly, like a whisper almost blown away in the wind, two words streaked across her mind: "Kiss me."

Kira may have survived the eclipse, but her troubles are far from over. She's headed to Sonnyville with one goal in mind: to learn more about her parents. But with Luke and Tristan competing for her heart and Diana gunning for her head, time is running out on the search for her mother. And the closer Kira gets to answers, the more terrified she becomes. The conduits fear her, the vampires fear her, and Kira is starting to wonder if maybe they're right...

Simmer eBook
Price: $0.99
Release: April 4, 2012
Buy Links: Kindle, Nook, Smashwords
Other Links: Goodreads

Ignite: Midnight Fire Series: Book One

With one last look, one final search of the lines of his face for some sign, Kira turned and ran away from the sound of the man she loved laughing in the face of her death.

When Kira Dawson moves to South Carolina, she meets Luke, a blond goofball who quickly becomes her best friend, and Tristan, a mysterious bad boy who sends shivers down her spine. Kira knows they're keeping secrets, but when she discovers Tristan's lust for blood and her own dormant mystical powers, Kira is forced to fight for her life and make the heartbreaking decision between the familiar comfort of friendship and the fiery passion of love.

Ignite eBook
Price: $0.99
Release: October 9, 2011
Buy Links: Kindle, Nook, Smashwords
Other Links: Goodreads

About the Author

Kaitlyn Davis graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She's been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a cockapoo puppy of her own.

Connect with Kaitlyn:


About the Blog Tour

Simmer blog tour site
Tribute Books Blog Tours


  1. Thanks for such a fun interview!! And thank you for being part of the tour!

  2. Carol, thanks for hosting Kaitlyn today. I agree - I like books where the stakes are high!