Thursday, June 2, 2016

Kathleen Gerard - The Thing Is - Review & Giveaway



About the Book

Can a woman mired deep in the throes of grief have her heart and soul rallied by a therapy dog named Prozac who possesses supernatural wisdom and a canine Mensa IQ? Meredith Mancuso is depressed. Ever since the death of her fiancĂ©, she has shrunk from the world. Even with her successful writing career, she's not motivated to work. When her sister, Monica, begs for a favor, Meredith wants nothing more than to say no. But she’s ultimately roped into pet-sitting an orphaned Yorkshire terrier named Prozac. Blessed with spiritual wisdom and a high IQ, Prozac is an active pet therapy dog. To heal broken-hearted Meredith, he rallies his fan club at Evergreen Gardens, an independent living facility, where he visits each week. Prozac and the community of resilient older folks challenged by losses of their own propel Meredith, often against her will, back into the land of the living. Meredith learns that most people carry some sort of burden, but it's still possible to find meaning, purpose, and joy—and even love—along the way. THE THING IS—a perfect read for fans of General Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Romantic Comedy, and Dog and Pet Lovers!




My Review

This is a beautifully written book, tender and deep. It touched me on so many levels because Kathleen Gerard's insight into the human soul is quite remarkable. Everyone needs love. Without it, we wither and die, simply going through the motions of being alive without really living. It's heartbreakingly sad to see the lonely, isolated routine that Meredith has fallen into. She's been hurt, traumatized by grief and she shuts herself off in order to keep going. Feeling anything for anyone just hurts too much.

But Gerard doesn't give Meredith a free pass. She's critical of what Meredith's let herself become, and she lets it be known through the voice of Prozac the dog. It's a fascinating take on looking at human interaction—how an individual perceives herself versus how the rest of the world does. We can trick ourselves into believing that we're okay when we're really not. It's only when we see ourselves reflected in other people that the truth begins to emerge, forcing us to see what we'd rather not see.

I enjoyed reading how the elderly residents of Evergreen Gardens held that mirror up in front of Meredith's face, opening her eyes to the possibilities still within her reach. Meredith is only in her early thirties, but she's an old soul who has experienced a heck of a lot. That's why she's able to relate to the senior citizens and be herself around them. Once she lets her guard down, she's finally able to let love back in.

Sometimes all it takes is finding the right people at the right moment to get a person back on track. Prozac is like Meredith's spirit guide. He gets a non-animal lover to love him, and in turn gets her to love herself and love others again too. Bravo, Kathleen Gerard!

***

The Thing Is can be purchased at:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
iTunes

Prices/Formats: $5.99 ebook, $14.99 paperback
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Pages: 299
Release: February 9, 2016
Publisher: Red Adept
ISBN: 9781940215587
Click to add to your Goodreads list.


About the Author

Kathleen Gerard writes across genres. Her work has been awarded many literary prizes and has been published in magazines, journals, widely anthologized and broadcast on National Public Radio (NPR). Kathleen writes and reviews books for Shelf Awareness. Kathleen's woman-in-jeopardy novel, IN TRANSIT, won "Best Romantic Fiction" at the New York Book Festival.

Links to connect with Kathleen:
Web Site
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Blog
Blog Tour Site


About the Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments:

  1. This is wonderful...My sincerest gratitude for your taking the time to read and review THE THING IS! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's one I will definitely remember.

      Delete